The Last Time I saw Paris

La Tour EiffelI spent some time in Paris, France in the summer of 1977.  I saw it in all its beauty and splendor that makes it a favored tourist destination.  I studied junior high school French and after eighth grade graduation, selected classmates got to take this trip.

I was fourteen years old with my fifteenth birthday taking place in the City of Lights.  Thirty-nine years ago was the last time I saw Paris.  At one time, I longed to go back there although it never worked out.  Now if I had the chance I would probably pass.  Not going back is the only way I can preserve the memories of Paris in 1977.  It is not the same place; just turn on the news.

 

The last time I saw Paris
Her heart was warm and gay
I heard the laughter of her heart
In every street cafe

The last time I saw Paris
Her trees were dressed for spring
And lovers walked beneath those trees
And birds found songs to sing

I dodged the same old taxicabs
That I had dodged for years
The chorus of the squeaky horns
Was music to my ears

Oh, the last time I saw Paris
Her heart was warm and gay
No matter how they changed her
I’ll remember her ah that way.

Here’s to you, Paris, France, and the fond memories you have given me

Leave a Reply

